

Department of Trade, Industry and Competition

Appointment of Members of the South African Council for the Non-Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction

The Department of Trade, Industry and Competition invites relevant experts and associations for the nuclear, chemical, biological, and aerospace industries to nominate persons for appointment as members to the South African Council for the Non-Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction in terms of section 4 (2) (d), (e), (f) and (g) of the Non-Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction Act, 1993 (Act No. 87 of 1993), as amended. The appointment will be for a five-year term, which will commence on 01 July 2024.

The South African Council for the Non-Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction is the national authority responsible for controls in terms of South Africa's international non-proliferation obligations. Additional information on the Council can be found at the following website:

https://non-proliferation.thedtic.gov.za/

The Members would be required to maintain a high level of confidentiality, undergo security vetting, and apply for a Secret clearance. Nominations, including Curriculum Vitae and copies of qualifications, should be forwarded to the Non-Proliferation Secretariat, for the attention of Ms Melanie Reddiar, by 21 April 2024, at the following address:

The Non-Proliferation Secretariat
The Department of Trade, Industry and Competition (Block B)
77 Meintjies Street, Sunnyside, 0002

Email: Nonproliferation@thedtic.gov.za