

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

QUESTION FOR WRITTEN REPLY

QUESTION NO. 2187

Dr A Lotriet (DA) to ask the Minister of Trade, Industry and Competition:

- (a) On what date was the Sport and Recreation Distributing Agency (SRDA) established and
- (b) What are the (i) names of the persons who are employed at the SRDA and (ii) relevant details of each specified person's (aa) salary and (bb) position? NW2756E

REPLY

I have been furnished with a reply to the question submitted, by Ms Thabang Mampane, Commissioner of the National Lotteries Commission, which is reproduced below.

(a) In May 2000, the Department of Trade and Industry issued an advert in all the major newspapers calling for nominations for persons to serve on the Distributing Agencies for the categories. After discussions between the Minister of Trade and Industry and the Ministers responsible for the beneficiary categories, 27 of the nominees were appointed to serve on the three Distributing Agencies. The Board hosted an orientation workshop to bring together all the appointed Members and the Minister of Trade and Industry in order to prepare the framework for developing the funding policies for the Distributing Agencies. Minister Erwin also formally appointed the National Lotteries Board to provide the administrative and management support to the Distribution Agencies. The Board began to set up the infrastructure required for this function in November 2000. A highly specialised, computerised grantmaking system was designed and additional staff have been employed.

The first meeting of the Distributing Agency for Charities was held on 23 February 2001 to determine a policy framework for the allocation of grants. Similar meetings were held by the Arts, Culture and National Heritage Distributing Agency on 10 March 2001 and the Sport and Recreation

Distributing Agency on 19 March 2001. Advertisements calling for applications were issued on 25 March 2001 for the Charities category and 1 April 2001 for the Sport and Recreation; and Arts, Culture and National Heritage categories.

(b)

<u>Year</u>	<u>Name</u>	<u>Position</u>	<u>Salary</u> <u>R'000</u>	<u>Notes</u>
2000	EG Bennett DA Jordaan MR Keikabile MJ Phaahla GN Sam JJ Sibanyoni KS Tshoma	Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Member Member	Not disclosed in AFS	
2001	EG Bennett DA Jordaan MR Keikabile MJ Phaahla GN Sam JJ Sibanyoni KS Tshoma	Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Member Member	Not disclosed in AFS	
2002	EG Bennett DA Jordaan MR Keikabile MJ Phaahla GN Sam JJ Sibanyoni KS Tshoma	Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Member Member	Not disclosed in AFS	
2003	EG Bennett DA Jordaan MR Keikabile MJ Phaahla GN Sam JJ Sibanyoni KS Tshoma	Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Member Member		32 8 29 18 20 24 52
2004	EG Bennett MR Keikabile JM Phaahla GN Sam JJ Sibanyoni KK Tshoma	Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Member		59 44 33 34 32 26

2005	EG Bennett H Kajee MR Keikabile MJ Phaahla GN Sam JJ Sibanyoni C van Niekerk EG Bennett	Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Member Member Chairperson	75 16 49 35 38 37 12
	H Kajee MR Keikabile MJ Phaahla GN Sam JJ Sibanyoni C van Niekerk	Member Member Member Member Member Member Member	18 34 27 34 16 15
2007	GN Sam H Kajee MR Keikabile HD Maharaj I van Buynder T Tshabalala C van Niekerk	Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Member Member	37 23 27 19 7 22
2008	GN Sam H Kajee MR Keikabile HD Maharaj I van Buynder T Tshabalala C van Niekerk	Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Member Member	45 27 40 28 11 35 17
2009	GN Sam H Kajee MR Keikabile HD Maharaj I van Buynder T Tshabalala C van Niekerk	Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Member Member	69 31 57 49 0 44 27
2010	GN Sam MR Keikabile HD Maharaj I van Buynder T Tshabalala C van Niekerk JH Adams RR Mali ME Ncula AL Travil	Chairperson Member	53 57 45 0 66 27 31 18 46 31

2011	GN Sam	Chairperson	70	
2011	MR Keikabile	Member	40	
	HD Maharaj	Member	13	
	T Tshabalala	Member	42	
	C van Niekerk	Member	26	
	JH Adams	Member	27	
	RR Mali	Member	45	
	ME Ncula	Member	116	
	AL Travil	Member	93	
	AL ITAVII	Wember	33	
				term extended to 15 January
2012	GN Sam	Chairperson	37	2012
		·		term extended to 15 January
	MR Keikabile	Member	58	2012
				term extended to 15 January
	HD Maharaj	Member	29	2012
	T Tababalala	Manakan	45	term extended to 15 January
	T Tshabalala	Member	45	2012
	C van Niekerk	Member	15	term extended to 15 January 2012
	JH Adams	Member	0	appointed 03 December 2009
	RR Mali	Member	42	appointed 03 December 2009
	ME Ncula	Member	103	appointed 03 December 2009
	AL Travil	Member	79	appointed 03 December 2009
	AL ITAVII	Wember	13	appointed to December 2009
2013	GN Sam	Chairperson	15	resigned 11 July 2012
	MR Keikabile	Member	93	
	HD Maharaj	Member	35	
	T Tshabalala	Member	41	
	C van Niekerk	Member	44	
	JH Adams	Member	80	
	RR Mali	Member	108	
	ME Ncula	Member	173	
	AL Travil	Member	112	
2014	MR Keikabile	Member	58	
	HD Maharaj	Member	7	
	T Tshabalala	Member	24	
	C van Niekerk	Member	32	
	JH Adams	Member	62	
	RR Mali	Member	199	
	ME Ncula	Chairperson	296	
	AL Travil	Member	147	
	R Ravele	Member	65	
	T Sikhosana	Member	85	
	ADO Moloabi	Member	78	
	A van Wieringen	Member	61	
	G Munro	Member	49	
	J Krubavathi	Member	64	
	VN Siyothula	Member	144	
2015	JH Adams	Member	133	

	RR Mali ME Ncula AL Travil R Ravele T Sikhosana ADO Moloabi A van Wieringen G Munro J Krubavathi VN Siyothula	Member Chairperson Member	329 492 91 140 128 73 146 95 118 327
2016	JH Adams RR Mali ME Ncula AL Travil R Ravele T Sikhosana ADO Moloabi A van Wieringen G Munro J Krubavathi VN Siyothula	Member Member Chairperson Member	0 520 761 23 127 152 0 154 60 146 476
2017	JH Adams RR Mali ME Ncula AL Travil R Ravele T Sikhosana A van Wieringen G Munro J Krubavathi VN Siyothula	Member Member Chairperson Member	213 592 552 0 100 122 131 0 100 256
2018	JH Adams RR Mali ME Ncula A Hill R Ravele T Sikhosana A van Wieringen J Krubavathi VN Siyothula	Member Member Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Member Member Member	241 609 689 350 396 302 13 169 0
2019	JH Adams RR Mali ME Ncula A Hill R Ravele T Sikhosana A van Wieringen	Member Member Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member	411 693 1032 439 458 382 0

J Krubavathi Member 197

-END-