

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

QUESTION FOR WRITTEN REPLY

QUESTION NO. 1220

MP Mr R W T Chance (DA) to ask the Minister of Trade, Industry and Competition: (a) What total number of trade counsellor positions are currently vacant in each country where the Republic has an embassy, high commission and/or trade office, (b) for how long has each trade counsellor position in each (i) embassy, (ii) high commission and (iii) trade office been vacant and (c) in which country is each specified (i) embassy, (ii) high commission and (iii) trade office that has a vacancy? NW1363E

REPLY:

(a) The Department of Trade, Industry and Competition (the dtic) is responsible for the overall management of 45 trade offices across the globe, tasked with stimulating global demand for South Africa's manufactured goods and services and attracting Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) into South Africa.

These trade offices are located within South African missions abroad, which include High-Commissions, Embassies and Consulates General. The total number of vacant trade counsellors, referred to as Foreign Economic Representatives (FERs), comprise of 30 positions in South African missions abroad.

(b, i, ii, iii) Since the return of the last FERs during December 2023, all trade offices have remained vacant, with the exception of the Geneva office which is staffed with 4 officials. The department has been going through a review of the approach to the FERs and the footprint of markets where they will be deployed, with a process of appointing FERs to key identified trade offices poised to start.

(c, i, ii, iii) The location of the indicated FER vacancies are as follows:

	Country	High Commission, Embassy or Consulate General
1	Ethiopia	Addis Ababa
2	Zimbabwe	Harare
3	China	Shanghai
4	China	Beijing
5	Germany	Munich
6	Kenya	Nairobi
7	Nigeria	Abuja
8	Ghana	Accra
9	Mozambique	Maputo
10	United Kingdom	London
11	Senegal	Dakar
12	Democratic Republic of Congo	Kinshasa
13	Japan	Tokyo
14	Angola	Luanda
15	United States of America	Washington
16	Brazil	Sao Paulo
17	United Arab Emirates	Dubai
18	India	New Delhi
19	India	Mumbai
20	Belgium	Brussels
21	Saudi Arabia	Riyadh
22	Germany	Berlin
23	Russia	Moscow
24	Algeria	Algiers
25	Uganda	Kampala
26	South Sudan	Juba
27	Egypt	Cairo
28	Iran	Tehran
29	France	Paris
30	South Korea	Seoul

-END-