

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

QUESTION FOR WRITTEN REPLY

QUESTION NO. 943

Mr N M Hadebe (IFP) to ask the Minister of Trade, Industry and Competition:

- (1) With reference to the media statement released on 7 September 2024 by his department mentioning the filling of vacancies across the entities that report to him from 13 September 2024, what measures has his department put in place to ensure that the (a) recruitment process will attract qualified and capable candidates particularly those aligned with the department's vision of transformation and industrialisation and (b) appointments foster diversity and inclusion within leadership roles across these entities;
- how is his department engaging with key stakeholders, including industry leaders, trade unions and civil society in the process of (a) stabilising governance and (b) filling critical vacancies? NW1189E

REPLY:

- (1) (a)&(b) The requirements for each position are clearly indicated in the adverts. The adverts further indicate that preference will be given to candidates whose appointment will advance representivity in terms of disability, gender, race, youth and provincial spread.
- (2) (a)&(b) The Minister has been engaging with various stakeholders and during those engagements he has been reiterating his commitment to stabilise governance and fill critical vacancies within the Department and entities under his

Executive Authority. The media statement itself was a form of engaging with the different stakeholders alerting them to when the positions would be advertised.

Furthermore, since releasing the media statement, the following entity positions have been advertised:

- 1. Three full-time Members of the Competition Tribunal
- 2. Members of the Board of the Export Credit Insurance Corporation of South Africa SOC Limited (ECIC)
- 3. Non-Executive Directors of the Board of the Industrial Development Corporation (IDC)
- 4. Trustees of the Board of the National Empowerment Fund (NEF)
- 5. Members of the National Gambling Board (NGB)
- 6. Full-time Members of the Distributing Agency of the National Lotteries Commission (NLC)
- 7. Members of the Board of the South African Bureau of Standards (SABS)
- Members of the Board of the South African National Accreditation System (SANAS)
- 9. Members of the South African Council for Space Affairs (SACSA)
- 10. Members of the Takeover Regulation Panel (TRP)
- 11. Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Regulator for Compulsory Specifications (NRCS)
- 12. Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Credit Regulator (NCR)
- 13. Deputy Commissioners at the Competition Commission

-END-