Economic Partnership Agreement between the SADC EPA states, of the one part, and the European Union and its Member states, of the other part

The SADC EPA Member states and the European Union signed the Economic Partnership Agreement on 10 June 2016 in Kasane, Botswana. South Africa participated in the SADC-EU EPA configuration negotiations since 2007. SA’s core interest has been to harmonise the trading regime between SACU and the EU; to secure further market access in agriculture (beyond the SA-EU Trade Development and Cooperation Agreement (TDCA) provisions) and claw back on some policy space lost under the TDCA. South Africa’s objectives have been achieved. After entry into force, the agreement will replace the Trade chapter of the (TDCA).



Print Friendly, PDF & Email